Dissidence and choreography?

INNER DISSIDENCES: the choreographies of the enemy within us

Despite the term “dissidence” has since 1940 political connotations, I would like to open a reflection on the notion of “inner dissidences” and its ethical consequences. Nowadays, it is no longer needed, in order to become a dissident, to isolate oneself in the country side and live in a cave like a hermit. To talk about inner dissidences implies to identify the existence of an enemy within us: an enemy that is not outside there easily recognizable but rather an enemy that exists close to our most fundamental fears. The enemy within us is a great choreographer and writes choreographies with the material of our deepest fears. Hence, the ethical dimension of inner dissidence can be expressed by the following questions:

How/when do I dissent from myself? How often do I disagree with the enemy within myself?  Am I capable of rejecting the authority of his choreographies? Or, on the contrary: Am I in life conducted by him? How often am I displaced by fears?

The ethical dissidence per excellence is the dissidence between the way we live and the way we think: how much does my life dissent from the way I think? And how much does my thinking dissent from the way I live? This is the dissidence between theory and practice. There is a gap between our critical discourse how we practice it. We are full of contradictions and exactly there is where the dissidence exists, where the wound opens and your life differs from your thinking and your thinking differs from your life.  Ars vivendi, the art of living. What choreographs your life trajectories? Do your life trajectories dissent from the standard normative way of living/thinking?

In this light, we can translate the problem into a different question: are you able to dissent, not only from somebody else´s judgement, but from your own judgement? Are you capable of dissenting from your own expectations?

SED_grafico_peque

CAMPO: Dissidence and choreography? Residency at Teatro Pradillo, Madrid. With Cristian Duarte • Bruno Levorin • Tarina Quelho (Brasil) • Daniela Marini • Nelson Avilés • Luis Alberto Moreno (Chile) • Esther Blázquez • David Pérez (Barcelona)• Diego Agulló (Berlín) • Paz Rojo • Paulina Chamorro (Madrid) Con el apoyo de : IBERESCENA. Coproducción 2013-014

 

img_4969 img_5010 img_5053 img_5062